UCA Women, Lamar Men Capture 2019 Southland Cross Country Titles

first_imgResults | Photo GalleryCONWAY, Ark. – Conditions were primed for the 2019 Southland Conference Cross Country Championships at Beaverfork Lake Park in Conway, Ark. The women’s team title will remain in Conway as Central Arkansas put together a first-place performance with 64 points for its first-ever Southland Championship. Lamar captured the title on the men’s side, landing six runners among the top-15 finishers and scoring 34 points to set a new conference championship record for widest margin of victory (86).New Orleans’ Arina Kleshchukova registered a first-place individual finish in the 6k race with a time of 20:50.5 in order to be named the women’s Athlete of the Year. Lamar’s Jordan Rowe snagged men’s Athlete of the Year honors with a first-place individual finish in the 8k event with a 24:01.7.Central Arkansas’ 64 points came on the shoulders of Erin Woodward, who led the Bears with a seventh-place overall finish. Central Arkansas landed five runners among the top 20 in order to beat out Stephen F. Austin’s 70-point performance.Kleshchukova narrowly edged out SFA’s Kelsey Ramirez by one second in order to grab New Orleans’ first women’s individual title in program history. The Ladyjacks’ Meredith Clayton was named Freshman of the Year following an 11th-place performance. Quin Johnson took home Newcomer of the Year for Texas A&M-Corpus Christi with a 13th-place finish.Five schools were represented on the women’s all-conference first team. A&M-Corpus Christi’s Valentina Campos, Abilene Christian’s Briahna Gerlach and Lamar’s Julie Emmerson all joined Kleshchukova and Ramirez with first-team honors.The Ladyjacks secured a second-place finish with 70 points, while the Islanders took third place with 94 points.Rowe led the Lamar men’s program to its sixth team title in seven years, while also cementing the Cardinals’ fifth individual title since the 2013 season. LU’s Liam Burthem stamped a fourth-place finish in order to be named the Newcomer of the Year, while ACU’s Denis Lagat took fifth-place along with Freshman of the Year honors.Lamar claimed three spots on the first team all-conference squad with Rowe, Burthem and Jack Gooch. Abilene Christian’s Lagat was also named a first-team selection, while fellow Wildcat Kevin Kipkosgei rounded out the five-man squad with a second-place individual finish.The Islanders claimed the runner-up trophy with 120 points, while Abilene Christian finished third place overall with 126 points in the men’s 8k event.The 2019 NCAA South Central Regional  race will take place at the Agri-Park on Friday, Nov. 15 in Fayetteville, Ark., hosted by Arkansas. The 2019 NCAA Cross Country Championships will take place at LaVern Gibson Championship Course in Terre Haute, Ind., Saturday, Nov. 23. Third Team Kolyn Saltzman Fr. New Orleans Briahna Gerlach Jr. Abilene Christian Name Class School Denis Lagat Fr. Abilene Christian Valentina Campos Jr. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Harry Hallford So. Lamar Matthew Arnold Sr. Lamar Gracie Hyde So. Central Arkansas Name Class School Isaac Vargas Jr. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Name Class School Jordan Rowe Jr. Lamar Madison Compass Sr. Stephen F. Austin Second Team Anthony Cordero Jr. Southeastern Louisiana Austin Zirkel Fr. Sam Houston State Alia Henderson So. UIW Arina Kleshchukova So. New Orleans Erin Woodward Sr. Central Arkansas Tristan Stellmach Jr. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Liam Burthem Jr. Lamarcenter_img 2019 Southland Championship Team Finishes:Women1. Central Arkansas2. Stephen F. Austin3. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi4. Abilene Christian5. UIW6. Lamar7. McNeese8. Southeastern Louisiana9. Nicholls10. Houston Baptist11. New Orleans12. Sam Houston State13. Northwestern StateMen1. Lamar2. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi3. Abilene Christian4. McNeese5. Stephen F. Austin6. UIW7. Central Arkansas8. Southeastern Louisiana9. Sam Houston State10. New Orleans11. Houston Baptist12. Nicholls13. Northwestern State Name Class School Katy Whiteoak Jr. Lamar Kelsey Ramirez Jr. Stephen F. Austin Second Team Julie Emmerson Sr. Lamar Carnley Graham Sr. Abilene Christian Name Class School Kevin Kipkosgei So. Abilene Christian Andrew Bosquez Jr. Sam Houston State Tamara Reeves Fr. Central Arkansas Declan Neary So. Lamar Quin Johnson Jr. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Name Class School Third Team Henry Kiplagat Jr. McNeese Sophie Daigle Jr. Southeastern Louisiana Meredith Clayton Fr. Stephen F. Austin Individual Superlatives:WomenFreshman of the Year – Meredith Clayton, SFANewcomer of the Year – Quin Johnson, TAMU-CCCoach of the Year – Beau Theriot, UCAAthlete of the Year – Arina Kleshchukova, UNOMenFreshman of the Year – Denis Lagat, ACUNewcomer of the Year – Liam Burthem, LUCoach of the Year – Tony Houchin, LUAthlete of the Year –  Jordan Rowe, LUWomen’s All-Conference TeamsFirst Team Men’s All-Conference TeamsFirst Team Jack Gooch Sr. Lamarlast_img read more