Ranji Trophy Final: Vidarbha clinch maiden title with crushing win over Delhi

first_imgVidarbha celebrated the new year in style by winning the Ranji Trophy final by 9 wickets to lift their maiden title at the Holkar stadium in Indore on Sunday.Off-spinner Akshay Wakhare picked up four wickets while Aditya Sarwate got three as Delhi got bowled out for 280 runs with a lead of 28 runs which forced Vidarbha to bat for the second time on Day 4.WATCH VIDEOCaptain Faiz Fazal got out leg-before in the first over from Kulwant Khejroliya  but then Sanjay Ramaswamy and Wasim Jaffer knocked off the runs in just 5 overs to trigger the celebrations in the Vidarbha dressing room. Jaffer scored the winning runs as he smashed a boundary off Khejroliya in the final ball of the fifth over.This was Jaffer’s 9th Ranji Trophy final and he’s ended up on the winning side every time.Earlier, Akshay Wadkar’s knock of 133 from 262 balls helped Vidarbha take 252-run lead in the first innings. Aditya Sarwate, Siddhesh Neral and Fazal also made useful contributions for Vidarbha, who made it to the final for the first time in history.Vidarbha led Delhi by 233 runs at stumps on Day 3, as they finished with 528/7 after 156 overs on the board.The stage was set for Wasim Jaffer, resuming his inning from 61, to score another ‘big one’. But Jaffer was surprised by a incoming Navdeep Saini delivery. The veteran had to depart for 78, trapped while trying to work the ball from his pads.Delhi were sniffing for a way back in the game, but in stepped Akshay Wadkar and Aditya Sarwate for the seventh wicket to flatten any such misconceptions.advertisementThey joined forces at 204 and by the time Delhi finally managed to breach Sarwate’s defences, Vidarbha had gone make 415 on the scoreboard.On day 2 , Rajneesh Gurbani ended a 45-year-old drought by claiming his maiden hat-trick, to become only the second bowler after Tamil Nadu’s B Kalyanasundaram to take three wickets of successive deliveries as Vidarbha bowled out Delhi for 295.Gurbani removed Navdeep Saini, Dhruv Shorey and Kulwant Khejroliya off successive balls.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *